jump to navigation

I bought 7 CEO CNOOC shares, late, hopefully not too late… October 13, 2009

Posted by deminvest in CEO, China stock, Defensive Stock, growth stock, investment.
Tags: ,
trackback

I wanted to buy the Chinese offshore oil company CNOOC in March .I  should have because CEO shares are 40% up now. Actually anybody should have bought about anything in March… markets are 60% higher!

Today I spent $1,028.37 to get 7 CEO shares ($146.13 each). If I had bought them in March I’d have 10 in my portfolio and some extra cash.

I chose this offshore oil company for several reasons:

1) China’s Economy is great. Not even the great recession could stop it.

2) Such liquidity may spur inflation. Oil is a commodity and it works as protection against inflation

3) Chinese car sales are up 80% from last year. I’m afraid there isn’t enough oil for all the World. Prices will go up.

4) Offshore is where most new oil is found. CEO has younger oil fields and more chances to find new ones.

5) CEO has excellent numbers. Good dividend yield around 4% and low forward P/E

6) I already own Petrochina, so I diversify with CEO.

Comments»

1. scubaxx - October 15, 2009

Hi deminvest,
I would like your opinion on an investment (your opinion, I know you do not give out fincancial advise)
I have a low risk instrument that can give me a 20% return during a 6 months period.
During the last year I invested some in the stock market and I got a decent return. What is your opinion? If you were in my situation, would you cash some of those stocks to invest them in to this financial instrument?
*It is all legal by the way

Thanks in advance !

2. deminvest - October 15, 2009

I’d keep the stocks. I don’t trust a “low risk intruments that can give 20% return in 6 months”.

3. Polprav - October 16, 2009

Hello from Russia!
Can I quote a post in your blog with the link to you?

4. deminvest - October 19, 2009

sure! You’re welcome to quote me

5. Hit my up 40% mark on CEO CNOOC LIMITED. Sold 5 to keep « Democratic Investments by the people for the people - October 8, 2010

[…] another stocks switched to the free side! One year ago, in October 13, 2009 I spent $1,028.37 to get 7 CEO shares ($146.13 each). On 10/06/2010  I sold 5 CEO shares at $209.46. I made $ 1,040 and I am now an happy owner of 2 […]


Leave a Reply

