jump to navigation

Letter to my Roomba: I hope you don’t mind that I sold 150 Irobot (ticker IRBT) shares today June 20, 2007

Posted by deminvest in growth stock, IRBT, Irobot, my free stock, nasdaq, Nasdaq stock, Single stocks, stock I own, stocks.
trackback

Roomba and her frog friend

My dear Roomba,

not only I have to thank you very much for cleaning my living-room everyday at 11 am, but also for giving me a juicy 40% rise on your stock price in less than 3 month.

Irobot, your maker, won a few contracts for military robots. That is why IRBT stock price reached my target in such short time! By the way, you do have quite rough brothers, my peaceful Roomba!

The day in which IRBT will post some decent earnings, your stock price will maybe skyrocket, it will be good because, thanks to my my “New free stock strategy” I only sold enough shares to get my money back and I am now a happy owner of 50 free Irobot shares. What is nice is that those free shares are now worth $926, more than twice the price I paid to bring you home, my dear useful Roomba.

This is the transactions on your maker company:

  1. on March 23 2007 I bough 200 (IRBT) Irobot shares . I paid $ 13,29 per share. I spent a total of $ 2658.
  2. today I sold 150 IRBT shares. I made $18.52. I made $2778.
  3. I still own 50 Irobot shares, worth $926. I got them for free and I plan to hold forever, unless poverty hits on me. In that case I will first sell other stocks. Your maker’s IRBT shares will be next and… well my dear Roomba, I promise you will be last to be sold 🙂

Comments»

1. Eric Nagel - June 20, 2007

I’ve been thinking about dumping some of mine. I do the same investing strategy as you did, and have a nice portfolio of “free stock”. I did it with Disney a while back. Also Family Dollar, Jet Blue, Dolby, Navteq, and Yahoo, to name a few.

Don’t get greedy, and you’ll do OK investing. There’s always something else to buy, so once you hit a point (my magic number is 33%), sell your initial investment and buy something else.

2. deminvest - June 21, 2007

My magic number is 40%… I guess I am a bit greedyer than you!


Leave a Reply

