jump to navigation

Just sold 8 Baidu (ticker: BIDU) shares June 18, 2007

Posted by deminvest in Baidu, BIDU, BIDU Baidu, China stock, growth stock, investment, my free stock, nasdaq, Nasdaq stock, risky investments, Single stocks, stock I own, stocks.
trackback

I sold them because BIDU went up 40% in four months, which my target.

According to my “New free stock strategy” and to my “Sell earn and cry strategy”, this is what I did:

  1. Feb 19, 2007 I bough 10 Baidu (BIDU) shares. I paid $105 per share. I spent a total of $1050.
  2. today I sold 8 BIDU shares at $ 147.51 per share. I made a total sum of $1180.
  3. I still own 2 Baidu shares. They are worth $295.02 now. I got them for free and I plan to hold forever (if I will not have to sell them because I fall in poverty!).

Those 2 BIDU shares could go a long way… Or fall like rotten apples from their tree!


Baidu is a wonderful Internet company. Maybe perfect knowledge of Chinese navigators can allow Baidu to continue defeating Google’s superior technology. Maybe Google will end up prevailing on Chinese market, using Chinese people’s ability to use English and their great desire to know the entire World.

If Baidu wins the price for its shareholders will be great.

Now BIDU has P/E: 111.56, and Forward P/E 48.87. It is expensive now, but it is worth it if it can keep its amazing growth rate:

Qtrly Revenue Growth (yoy):103.30%

Qtrly Earnings Growth (yoy):142.60%

I do consider Google a better bargain than Baidu at these prices, but I may be wrong and I like to still have those 2 Baidu shares to make wrong but happy🙂

Comments»

1. witek - June 18, 2007

what companies do you have “free shares” in ?

can you give us a list?

2. deminvest - June 19, 2007

sure Witek! Here is the list:
Name Symbol
Baidu BIDU (eh eh new Entry!)
Google GOOG
Idearc IAR
General Motors Corporation GM
Altria Group MO
Palm PALM
ActivIdentity Corp. ACTI
AT&T T
Entergy Corporation ETR
Infosys Technologies Limited (ADR) INFY
Pfizer PFE
Caterpillar CAT
Expedia EXPE
The AES Corporation AES
Merck & Co. MRK
CDC Corporation CHINA
Ford Motor Company F
Kraft Foods KFT
Trina Solar Limited (ADR) TSL
Companhia Vale do Rio Doce (ADR) RIO
Aluminum Corp. of China Limited (ADR) ACH
SourceForge LNUX
Exxon Mobil Corporation XOM
Satyam Computer (ADR) SAY
JPMorgan Chase & Co. JPM
Comcast Corporation CMCSA
Southern Copper Corporation (USA) PCU
iShares FTSE/Xinhua China 25 Index (ETF) FXI
Unilever plc (ADR) UL
Norsk Hydro ASA (ADR) NHY
Luminent Mortgage Capital LUM
BP plc (ADR) BP
DaimlerChrysler AG (USA) DCX
The Greater China Fund GCH
BAYER BAY
ENI ENI
HSCEI China ASI
FTSE/Xinhua China 25-IS FXC
PERMASTEELISA PMS
UNICREDITO ITALIANO UC
FORTIS FO4
LANXESS LXS
ALITALIA AZA
VODAFONE GRP VODE
ABN AMRO AAR
First 35 in the list are traded on Wall Street
Last ten are traded on european markets

3. deminvest - June 21, 2007

eh eh, you can add 2 more:
NOK Nokia
IRBT Irobot

4. rien - May 2, 2008

hi there,may i know how do you trade baidu stocks online?

thanks!

5. deminvest - May 4, 2008

It is a Nasdaq stock. ticker is BIDU

I use http://www.zecco.com to trade on Nasdaq


Leave a Reply

